top of page
  • joelleaeby

To Unwind



I have been Introduced to Pilates by a young age. I remember in my school days Wednesday morning we would get to the ballet studio and start the day with Pilates at 10 a.m. At that time my teachers used to say that Pilates and the knowledge of the anatomy of the body is extremely important as a Dancer and athlete. We might have taken that hour of exercises for granted as it felt more like torture than anything else.

I do remember that the ballet class after Pilates always went great but again I was too young to understand the impact of it at that time. I could feel it in my body. Different muscles were engaged, higher extensions, higher jumps.


Ones the school days are over the dancer has to take care of its own body. We do get our daily ballet class but besides rehearsals and shows it is in our hands to look after our bodies.

Pilates, personally is a Love-Hate relationship. I know the benefits of it but some days your body just doesn't want to go through the extra of doing plank positions, crunches etc.


It was after my first surgery that I had my first Reformer class. It was part of my rehab program. It did change the speed of recovery and helped me to get back on my legs even stronger than before.


I am glad that I found an activity outside of dancing that helps my body with recovery and strength. Not just physically but mentally too. I have joined a Pilates studio in Melbourne where classes are run in groups. The music, the drill and the exercises they are fun and make me feel good.


With the years of dancing I can feel how important it is to have some activities outside the Studio we dance in. Going to the Spa, to the gym, jazz class, salsa class I reckon whatever the heart desires it is so important to do something good to our bodies and minds. It will help to wind down and recharge for the next rehearsal, next show, next project.


As always

Love

Joëlle


77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page