top of page
  • joelleaeby

Time to reflect ...


Half of the season is already done and many shows and productions were performed.

It is one of my first weekends since a while to actually relax, unwind and have a thought about the last few months.


Being back on stage after a global pandemic and months of lock downs is rewarding, exciting but comes with its up and downs. Now that venues are open and getting back to full capacity they will try to have as many shows on as possible. For a company and an artist this is excellent. For the body it can be a bit much. Most of us dancers were dancing from home for a fair bit of time during Covid which means we didn't do full classes due to lack of space, slippery floor etc. Dancing a full ballet requires the artist being fit, strong and have a good stamina. Those aspects got a bit lost with the time away from the studio.

So far shows have gone well. I feel that the stamina is getting back at it's peak and each show feels stronger.





Now I have been asked by many of my students how we get all those productions ready in such a short time, including touring.

Let me list all the shows we have done so far.



The Nutcracker

Beauty and the Beast

Anastasia

Little Mermaid

Don Quichote

Cinderella

Snow Queen (Première)





Rehearsals for each production feel different. I have ballets that I can learn quickly and I get grip of the choreography and my new spot immediately. Cast do change often so it is good to have an eye on all different dances and different roles.

As example Beauty and the Beast is one of the productions that I enjoy rehearsing and performing as it has flown inside my body the day we started working on it in the studio.

Whereas another production may take more time and effort to get the same feel. This can be a frustrating and stressful process. Especially when the time frame to get this ballet on stage is short.

I like to take some time to sit down in the evening, close my eyes and go over the dance in silence. Just picture myself doing each step. This is a tool I have used in the last few years. Ones I know what the steps are I will be able to work on the technique and artistry required on stage. As well this helps me to focus on that particular dance and is a way to calm down and relax my body.




We are currently working on Anastasia which will be on stage next week in Brisbane QPAC

Another show, another tour, another story


Stay tuned


Till next time

Love Joëlle





Picture 2 ; Hannah Lyons (Snow Queen)

Picture 3; Charlie Morton (Snow Queen)

136 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page